Oh She Stirred The Right Mom Here! (Response to Moms Dressing Like Slobs Post)

jodi-headshot01This post is to put Jodi Meltzer on BLAST.   When I read her post in theStir, I like most mothers was appalled.  I couldn’t question her position until I knew more about her so I did my research.  The last thing I wanted to do was blast a woman with multiple children who really puts in hard work like most of the mothers out here in the world who don’t have time for full makeup when dropping their kids off at school, just so that they can come back home and scrub the toilet after a son who couldn’t aim to save his life.  I don’t know how many mothers out there put on pearls to do laundry and wash dishes, but I’m not one of them.  As a matter of fact the only mothers out there I know of that put on full makeup and jewelry just to drop their kids off at school also have maids. I’m sure Meltzer does as well, because when I see her profile pictures she not only strikes me as someone who doesn’t do housework, but someone who doesn’t do all the cooking she claims to do for her MommyDish blog.  Ok, I take that back, I’ve seen the pictures of her food and I can believe she prepared that bullshit. I guess I can cut her some slack on that because after all, she did just lose her crockpot virginity last year.

Eyeroll

 

 

I don’t know why, but I get the feeling that she has a Rosa or Lupita that visits her house often.  And I know I’m not far off here because she’s a vegetarian that shops at Macy’s.  Most of us moms that wear the dreaded yoga pants she speaks of are lucky to be able to grace a Target and seldom ever have a Mall Budget.

I knew when researching her she was a mother of just one, because her expectations of motherhood were just too unrealistic.  I understand that she has a teenage step daughter, but when we’re talking about sheer exhaustion brought on by children we can generally count out teenagers because they can wipe their own asses and make their own snacks.  But when you have multiple children under the age of ten, you have a full time job in which you are always on-call for.  And God forbid you are a stay at home mother because unlike many people want to believe, you don’t get to sit at home and do nothing all day.  You cook, clean, do laundry, shop for household supplies (not shoes), and manage a family schedule.  Having multiple children also means that you can’t afford to hire help.  You are the help.  Meltzer says in her post, “there’s no reason to literally roll out of bed and into the car.”  Seriously???  Are you for real???  First of all Mrs. Privileged, most of us moms don’t roll out of bed and into the car.  There’s a big gap that you left out in between these two events, which further leads me to believe that you have hired help.  Most of my readers know that I have four children under the age of 6 and one teenager.  My mornings tend to be a blur, but my children look picture perfect when we leave the house.  And that’s my job.  When I had children I elected to put them first and my own vanity on a shelf.  So if I don’t have the time to shower, or dress before I get them where they need to be on time, then that’s what I signed up for.  I’m happy with that and I don’t need a mean girl bully like you to pick on my attire at the bus stop because I can’t afford to look as fabulous as you do in the mornings.  Frankly, none of us mothers should give a damn about what Meltzer or people like her think about our attire or grooming practices because when it comes down to it, they could never do what we do.  Not without medication anyway.  Mrs. Meltzer, I know that much of what I’ve said here probably hurt your feelings, but perhaps now you know how your judgmental post hurt the feelings of the many moms in your social circle who probably read this and thought you were talking about them. (Which you probably were)  I hope you’re reading this because if I could, I’d tell you that until you walk a mile in our shoes, you need stay the hell out of our yoga and pajama pants.

This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Oh She Stirred The Right Mom Here! (Response to Moms Dressing Like Slobs Post)

  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    Ditto what you said!! 😀

  2. Shanae Ramirez says:

    AMEN!!!!!!

  3. Carrie says:

    I couldn’t disagree with you more! I am a single mom with 3 kids (9,7 and 5). I work full time, no child care help, no cleaning service. I do it all! Yet, somehow, I put makeup on. Every single day. It’s called taking pride in yourself and teaching your children the same.

  4. olivia1972 says:

    OMG I am cracking up that you got your panties in such a wad over a funny, rant post that you actually posted this in response. While you tried to do your best to make Meltzer look bad, you actually just showed that not only are you racist (Rosa or Lupita ring a bell), but you are even more judgmental than the woman you called out. You see, unlike Meltzer’s post, she does not call out anyone specifically or try to hurt anyone on purpose. She just said what many people already think – and did so in a humorous way. You on the other hand, went out of your way to try and malign an individual who you know nothing about. Nice try, but really, shame on you for being just an asshole.

  5. raisinemreal says:

    I’ve been called a lot of things, and racist has been one of them. With the way I view and speak about the world I don’t expect that to change because I’ll never bite my tongue. I certainly hope I’m not racist towards Hispanics because my kids are half Mexican and well, that would mean that I’ve been living a lie for oh….I don’t know how many years. Does this mean that I should send them back across the border? And I am an asshole, and a bitch, and any other name you can think to call me so please by all means, do so. None of it bothers me. I don’t care how you talk about me, just as long as your are talking about me. Have you read my $#!t I say on Facebook page? By the way, name of this blog is Raisin’ Em Real. Not Perfect Parenting. Thanks for reading and thanks even more for commenting. Pass the link along. Maybe your friends have some names to call me that I’ve never been called before. I doubt it, but it’s worth a shot!

    • olivia1972 says:

      So it is perfectly ok for you to rant, say whatever you want, because as you said, you will “never bite your tongue.” Fair enough, but realize that is exactly what Meltzer was doing in her post. I also find it funny that the first time I tried to post my comment (earlier this morning) it has been awaiting moderation ALL day. That only tells me that you censor what people posts, and you truly do not want an honest feedback. I applaud you for Raisin Em Real, but now you should try Keeping It Real.

  6. Jodi Meltzer says:

    You did not hurt my feelings. You are entitled to your opinion. I will not personally attack you for expressing your views. I will say I completely agree with the comment above … some of your accusations against me are vile. Despite your “research,” you don’t have a clue about me. I have two kids, a full-time job, was primary caregiver for two immediate family members with cancer (until my mom died recently…please try to refrain from putting me on “BLAST” about that). I also had skin cancer myself. I don’t have a maid (and the names you offered up for maids do sound pretty racist). I do the work of both a working and SAHM (in terms of earning money and caring for my house). Even with all of that, I get up and dressed every morning. I comb my hair and brush my teeth. It’s wrong of moms to expect their kids to be perfectly dressed and ready while they set a slob example. I also think moms should care about themselves enough to take care of themselves. I wasn’t promoting anyone go to school drop off as a prom queen. But basic clothing and grooming are a must. Who knew you people like you would decent pajamas to the death? It really takes the same amount of effort to put on jeans, pants, leggings, or pajamas … but what you wear makes a difference. I am sure some kids are horrified by what their moms look like. If you really put them first you should think about that.

    • raisinemreal says:

      Thank you Jodi for responding. My purpose for “putting you on blast”, was to express to you that “people like me” are offended that you would even think it’s ok to publicly call out people with less ambition than you. That doesn’t mean that as parents we aren’t ambitious, it just means that we don’t desire to be on a public platform where the rest of the world can see us. We can’t all be perfect, but we do the best we can, and if our best is not good enough for you then who are you to judge us on a public forum and make us feel that much less about ourselves because you are so much better. You can’t possible know what it’s like to be chasing a toddler, while nursing a baby, and pregnant with a third. That’s right, because you’d never make an idiotic mistake like “people like us”, yet you have no problem pointing out our flaws. In a perfect world, your argument is beautiful. But in this real world, it’s just plain offensive. I know I went at you hard. I meant to, because the harshness that you just read in my words was the same harshness read by hundreds in yours. My local newscaster was even giving you the side as she discussed your blog this morning which prompted me to speak out about it. I am pleased that you stood up to defend yourself. Many women who read your post wouldn’t know where to begin to defend themselves on their lack of funds to purchase better clothing, or lack or energy due to a late night job, or being up all night with a colicky baby to give a damn about their appearance in a mere seven to eight minute moment of the day. I thought long and hard about calling you out, but I don’t think you thought very much about calling out the “slobs” in your post. What you wrote was mean and it reminded of when I was in high school being taunted by the bully whose parents made more money than mine and could afford to buy them designer clothes as I managed with my mother could afford from the thrift shop. Really, we’re adults now. Are you really wanting to set an example for your children that it’s ever ok to look down on people? Some of the women you made fun of may have chosen to wash their children’s clothes this week instead of their own due to lack of laundry detergent because of their financial struggle. And that may not even be the case. Some of these women may suffer from depression and can only muster up the energy to take care of their kids. You don’t know what is going on in their private lives. Just as I don’t know what’s going on in yours. So was it wrong of me to write this post and assume what was happening behind your closed doors? You’re damn right it was. But my post was just tit for tat. Doesn’t feel good does it? You don’t know the struggle. And until you do, you can’t judge those going through it.

  7. Jodi Meltzer says:

    That was defend pajamas to the death…typo.

  8. moana lane says:

    Right on you tell her ass!

  9. Victoria says:

    RaisinEmReal I actually found the original post by Meltzer and I think it is ludacris that she cares so much about what other moms wear while dropping their children off. She even had the nerve to post a picture of one of the most beautiful women, (Halle Berry) in the world dropping her daughter off at school. I do not have any children, but I know it takes a great deal of work for mothers that care about their children to get them ready in the morning for school with limited time. Meltzer even points out in her post many of the duties a mom has to complete in the mornings such as, ” You bribe them as needed to brush their teeth. Their backpacks are stocked, their lunches wholesome, their school supplies are all there.” So she understands how busy a mom can be in the morning which leaves no time for moms to get ready also. Furthermore, I did not get the memo that moms were having “Fashion Wars” at the bus stops in the mornings. I commend all mothers and the hard work they put forth getting their children together. I do not think she had a valid argument. I could see why her original post would offend many mothers especially if she is calling them a slob for wearing yoga pants. Meltzer better never be pictured in yoga pants or she will have some answering to do. By the way funny post!

  10. girlseule says:

    I don’t even have kids and I roll out of bed and into the car! If it’s really cold I might put shoes on but otherwise I am that person you see wandering around the supermarket barefoot. Meh, I’m just not that fussed about what I wear a lot of the time.

  11. raisinemreal says:

    Ms. Jodi responded to me here in her own defense of her judgmental words. But I think I got my point across that people should just be themselves and not worry about what other’s think. If I could get away with it, I’d go barefoot too. It’s just too cold where I live, and I have to set an example for the kids. Oh the freedoms we give up for parenthood.

Leave a Reply

