Stop Allowing the Media to Fan the Flames of Racism

 We have to stop the slant of the Mass Media News.  The other day I came across this story about a bus a “black” bus driver that allowed “black” students to beat up a “white” student.  The video is hard to watch but it is clear that the driver is a 67 year old man, close to retirement with no possible way to intervene between three harden youths literally stomping a helpless kid.  But what he didn’t do was allow it to go on without attempting to call for help.  I’m not questioning why the bus driver didn’t take action; but more so why the other children on the bus didn’t take action?  Are we raising children that instead of stepping up in the face of an atrocity, take out their cell phones and record it?  And why has this case been turned into an issue of race, and even worse than that, how can anyone possibly call for legal action against this bus driver?  I haven’t posted about this to rant, but more so to get the opinion of my readers, if any of you dare to speak up.  This world can’t change with just spectators, we need speakers too.  We need action.  Personally, I would have tazered all three of the boys.  I guess that’s why I’m not a bus driver.

This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stop Allowing the Media to Fan the Flames of Racism

  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    I will not watch something like that; I will take your word for it. Children need adults of all races and cultures to come together and refuse violence. I could bet those kids have listened to their parents speak in anger. Kids cannot control those powerful emotions so I would not fault the boys. The other children are afraid of the violence so I do not blame them for not trying to stop it. We adults need to lead in peace, not anger. To me, that was Martin Luther King’s message.

    By the way, I’m glad to see you back to blogging.

    • raisinemreal says:

      Happy to be back!!!! And thanks for missing me. I agree that we have to set the example for these kids, but the problem I seem to keep encountering on my mission is that parents can’t seem to get past their own needs and wants to see how their desires effect their children. So many obstacles, but we can only tackle them one at a time right? I wish there was a source, a root to the problem that if we could identify, we could fix. It seems hopeless, but I refuse to give up hope.

Leave a Reply

