Spending Time with the Kids

DSCN6197It’s been awhile since I’ve posted something positive in Parenting and as I have been a tad absent from the blog lately I guess it’s only fair to share with you why. Over the past two months I have lost two family members who can be classified as nothing less than family matriarchs.  These two women were the pillars of my family that not only represented family, but taught us all how to be a family.  Over the past eight weeks I have spent a vast amount of time traveling with toddlers and spending time with family members I haven’t seen in years.  This got me to thinking about my own family unit at home and forced a realization on me that I’m sure all mothers my age eventually realize.  “Now is the time that they will remember forever.” DSCN6199

Watching those caskets close changed me.  I’ve not yet experienced the loss of my parents, but my mind remains in steady preparation every day now.  Not to say that I’m walking around in a cloud of doom and gloom, but my mortality has become more evident to me in the sense that “time” has a new definition.  Childhood memories take time, and in an effort to practice what I preach I have made a promise to myself to spend more time with my kids.  I hope for this to turn into a new category for all blogging mommies to share in, so please spread the word.  Guest bloggers are always welcome so email me at raisinemreal@gmail.com to share with us how you spend time with your kids.

This past week, we put in a garden.  Not much space is needed, and even the act of planting a single plant will help reduce your carbon footprint.  It won’t take up much of your “time” to create, but the “time” you spend doing this with your child(ren) will be priceless.  For me, I basked in the questions they asked me because soon, they will be like my 16 year old and know it all.    Here’s to enjoying the “time”.  Here’s to Raisin Em Real.21084_3106927569644_1525649486_nDSCN6188

183068_3106927049631_1439899891_n

 

This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spending Time with the Kids

  1. Britt says:

    Oh, Kandice. This is lovely. I’m so sorry that you lost such special people who taught you what family means (and quite possibly how to raise these kiddos “real”). I believe in quality over quantity of time, and having little hands in a garden certainly matches up with that– even if letting them “help” is sort of annoying. I read at least five, long books to the boys at bedtime over the course of a year. Love That Dog, by Sharon Creech prompted a slew of questions that made me ache with the beauty of their innocence. Thanks for this post…

  2. TamrahJo says:

    My condolences on your losses and congratulations on your beautiful garden plot!

    • raisinemreal says:

      Thanks TamrahJo for your kind words. 🙂 And thanks for reading.

      • TamrahJo says:

        Not to long after I my son passed away, a neighbor lady asked if I could help her with her spring garden cleaning – she had a beautiful permaculture garden – – one that she built after her son died – She called it her healing garden and I’ve come to believe gardening is a wonderful way to heal – 🙂

        I had just started container gardening, after not doing any gardening since childhood – I’m into year 5 now of gardening in different ways and I’m always amazed at how much healing takes place when I’m engaged in that activity.

Leave a Reply

