Is Standardize Testing a Pitfall for Students

AyxXvQ3CMAIdvCd.jpg-large.sm_aMore than 130 Massachusetts professors and researchers from schools and universities formed a coalition and signed a public statement last month urging Education Officials to stop overusing standardize testing in schools.   I personally have been stressing the issue among my peers when the topic of a failing education system comes up in conversation.  For well over two years now, the question at the front of my mind has been, “How can we really be teaching our children when we are only training them to pass a test?”  What is the extent of the education that we are giving our children?  When I was in school, there were many teachers that took their subject of expertise seriously, and passionately presented it to students in a manner that passed the passion of learning along.  I was starting to think that teachers no longer cared, complaining they don’t get paid enough to go that extra mile.  It turns out the pressure placed upon them to keep their jobs in lieu of standardize test scores, could be the gaping crack that many of our students are falling through.  In a nutshell, protestors are saying,

“Given that standardized tests provide only one indicator of student achievement, and that their high-stakes uses produce ever-increasing incentives to teach to the test, narrow the curriculum, or even to cheat, we call on the BESE [Board of Elementary and Secondary Education] to stop using standardized tests in high-stakes decisions affecting students, teachers, and schools.”

Parents I encourage you to read the full document here.  I don’t think this is the beginning of this argument and I know for a fact that it’s not the end of it.  I understand that there is enough to do in your life without having to second guess the public school system that assures us our tax dollars are hard at work, but unfortunately, that system only works in a perfect world.  Stay vigilant my friends.

This entry was posted in In The News, My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is Standardize Testing a Pitfall for Students

  1. Ah, this is a big issue, mate! I can on;y speak for Australia but even though are global standards are declining, we are still among the leaders. And, yet, our students emerge from year 12 with grossly inadequate literacy and numeracy skills. What the hell have they been taught (have they learned) during twelve long years. Coz I teach them at university level and – for many – it is appalling. In my own educator role (part-time) I discard much of the curriculum and try to teach them how to think and how to be decent human beings. I figure if I can do that, then something worthwhile has been achieved. But it is risky and, quite possibly, I am not serving them well enough. Though I should say I don’t get complaints! The standardized tests I see are shocking. The standardised marking/ratings they mandate for teachers these days are an insult to intelligence. We are failing our children. It is a tragedy. Please keep promoting this, mate!

  2. raisinemreal says:

    Over here it’s slowly becoming a reality that teachers jobs depend these scores, hence the term “high stakes testing scores”. I believe that a child is going to learn that which interests them and when educators decided on this career, the committed to discovering new ways to make learning interesting. This can be hard to do under their current circumstance. The more I read about this, the more I’ll write. Thanks for the support.

  3. capacitará says:

    Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.

    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this content together.

    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both
    reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth
    it!

Leave a Reply

