Sex In Preschool? Here we go again…

school_3You could have picked me up off the floor when I read this headline, “Calif. preschool closing after alleged sex between 4- and 5-year-olds” from NYDailyNews.  After the father of a 4 year preschool student reported that his son had received oral sex from a 5 year old girl in the bathroom at school, a fire storm has ensued with as many as 6 other children involved and multiple sex acts between the children have surfaced.  The California Department of Social Services blames and has cited all involved for “overall lack of supervision and an improper teacher-child ratio.”  The school has since closed down, although official don’t state the current investigation as a reason, I have to ask, was there something more sinister taking place to force the shut down?  I’m sure as the days pass, more will come out about this story, and if you guys get an update that I don’t, feel to email me with a link.

It was not even a month ago that I made a public call for parents to pay closer attention to the actions of your children and the increasing and alarming rate of premature sexualization. <—That’s my word. (Read Post Here) This is not just in how you dress your children, or what you allow them to watch on television.  This is really about what you are TALKING to them about.  If you aren’t talking to them, they are processing what they learn on the streets with no guidance, and that’s an EPIC FAIL on our parts as parents.  We have got to do better.  The digital age has given us access to an infinite number of doors that at one time were locked to us as children, but today are wide open for our kids to explore.  No, we can’t shelter our children completely, but we can educate them to the fullest.  Even if you think you know what to say, understand, that you have no clue.  I’ve written about this here in a two part post (Post 1) with helpful tools that might make this task easier and thorough. (Post 2)

 

Parents, when there is sex in preschool, there is a problem in society.  We can no longer stick our heads in the sand and pretend it isn’t happening.  Sound off here in comments, and maybe we can put our heads together with innovative ideas for change.  We at least have to try.  I’m here to help you Raise Em Well, and Raise Em Real.

This entry was posted in In The News, My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sex In Preschool? Here we go again…

  1. i need a mom says:

    Hello there my dear,
    Well, I just read this post and I am speechless. Thank you for taking a stand, for offering help, wisdom and instruction. I look forward to hearing more from you 🙂 God bless my dear.

  2. i need a mom says:

    Thank you for the follow sweetie

  3. I hesitate to say i “Like” this. It is appalling (the issue, that is, not your piece!). But your effort to raise awareness of the issue is vital. Like you, I cannot help but feel there is something much deeper that is wrong here. Something very suspicious. I simply cannot imagine that many incredibly juvenile youngsters – all in the same environment – suddenly start to experiment with sex. If it were ass it has been claimed to have happened, then, surely, there would be other instances across the States. Maybe there have been, heaven help us, but I can’t imagine it. This is a deep sickness pervading our society. The level of incest across society is frightful – evidence in Australia shows we are as guilty as anywhere – and you have to wonder just how sick people are. It is a dreadful topic but one that has to be illuminated if we are ever to change things. BTW, I don’t believe in any god or religion and I’m no doubt a big ‘sinner’ but some values we simply must uphold or we lose ourselves to the forces of darkness. May you have the strength to keep up the good work, Kandice.

Leave a Reply

