Mayhem and Foolishness!!!

This story caught my attention because the headline left me under the impression that parents were dropping their children off to trick or treat rather than accompanying them in an attempt to monitor behavior as they should. Imagine my shock to find out that this community has dealt with a roving teenage mob every year that damaged and destroyed property at will with no legal repercussions. Jaw dropping right? And still yet I haven’t reached the REAL shocker. Parents were dropping off and picking up their children after the damage was done. They knew what they were dropping their kids off to do because it has become a tradition for the local schools. (Kids, not officials) I can’t speak for others, but if I my 15 year old came home and told me of her and about 200 to 300 other kids’ plan to go and toilet paper and egg homes and cars, there is no way in hell I would consent yet alone provide transportation. What is happening to us as a society where we allow our children to tell not only us, but law enforcement that they are planning to be vandals for one night, and we sit back and passively allow it to happen. The police chief claims that there was nothing he could do to stop this behavior; however he did not condone it either. What he did was to make a public cry to parents to not drop their children off when they fully know that the kids are up to mischief. And these parents can’t really cry plausible deniability. I mean really, you didn’t notice that your kids were armed with cartons of eggs, rolls of toilet paper, and cans of shaving cream? And when did our youth lose respect for the police and authority? I know in my day we had The Breakfast Club and Eastside High, but those were high school students screaming F^@& police. I guess Flavor Flav influenced a generation that raised a generation to fight the power. Is this really the way? I would have lost brownie points as police chief of Colonie, NY that night. Lock up would have been reserved for juveniles, and maximum capacity would have been reached. When parents came to pick their children up, they could pay the fine for dropping them off in an unlawful zone.

http://www.timesunion.com/local/article/Colonie-chief-Parents-dropped-off-kids-for-4000278.php

 

This entry was posted in In The News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mayhem and Foolishness!!!

  1. mamacravings says:

    It’s deplorable. As a public school teacher, I have found that students are steadily becoming more brash. They lack respect for one another and their teachers. The saddest part is that parents don’t seem to be shocked by this behavior. There is a lot of shoulder shrugging and “kids will be kids” in response.

    • raisinemreal says:

      I remember hearing my mother complain about the youth when I was growing up, and the last thing I want to do is sound like my mother…but I can’t help it. These kids are getting out of hand and the only thing I can think to do is make the parents more responsible. It’s one of the reasons I write this blog. Parental Awareness is the key.

Leave a Reply

