Did your kids go to Preschool?

While some people may view the picture to the left as a wonderful interactive learning environment, I on the other hand have the tendency to see it as a breeding ground of infections and misinformation.  I know, a pretty harsh view of preschool, but in all seriousness, please hear me out.  For months my mother and I have gone to head to head about the benefits and disadvantages of preschool.  My “feral” children, as she calls them, need to be socialized and are going to be behind when they reach Kindergarten.  Here’s my argument, and I encourage you to write me about this, because after all, I could be wrong.  My mother teaches Head Start, and because of this she has become bias to the importance school like social settings.  As my second oldest prepares to enter Kindergarten, I have really started to consider home schooling.  If I weren’t so damn disorganized, I’d probably go though with it too.  But what about other parents who do home school?  Example: Bob and Pam Tebow.  Timothy Tebow went to a great college and now plays for the NFL without ever stepping foot into preschool or any other educational institution prior to college.  A homeschooling success story I would even dare say. (You can read more here)

So I’d like to hear from you parents out there.  Currently I teach my children from home but next school year I will be making the difficult to decision whether or not to drop my child off at school, when I know perfectly well the one on one attention that I will give her at home will benefit her more educationally and her socialization skills can be acquired through her siblings and community based activities.  Am I really serving my children an injustice by not sending them to preschool?  At this time I would only be able to afford programs that are free like Head Start.  So, without sounding prejudice against my own, I can look forward to my children coming home with the new knowledge of dance moves and song lyrics that I’m sure not to approve of.  I want more control over what and how my children learn, and I think it’s only fair that I have that option. Especially in the first five formative years.  What do you think?  This website here has a great argument for institutional education and I felt it only fair to share.  I can’t wait to read your comments, and I plan to set up a poll for those who don’t want to write a comment, but still want to share their opinion.  Thanks for reading, thanks for Raisin Em Real.

http://issuu.com/naeyc/docs/petersen_yc0912?mode=window&backgroundColor=%23222222

 

This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Did your kids go to Preschool?

  1. I am a beleiver in preschool. However, we had a a nanny for a while (unfortunately, neither of us could afford to stay home). We waited for a few years to put the kids into preschool because of some of the things you said. Both kids were in preschool by the time they were 3.

    • raisinemreal says:

      Thank you so much for your reply. I am really torn about it all to be honest with you, but I feel that if I have been afforded the opportunity to stay at home, that I am going to try and make the best of it and teach my children everything I can before it’s time for them to go to school. If I find that my five year old struggles next year in Kindergarten, I will make changing very quickly. I am not immune from mistakes, and I am not ashamed to admit when I have made them. 🙂

      • I think its great that you can stay home.
        I’m sure you will make some mistakes and your 5 year old wont be perfect. He wouldnt be perfect by going to preschool either.The point is both he & you will gain so much by you being there.

      • raisinemreal says:

        I feel that I tremendously blessed to be able to stay at home now. I have a 15 year old that raised alone until I met my current husband when she was 7. I had to work two jobs to make ends meet. So I’ve been on both sides of the fence and I know that I am so grateful to be a stay at home mommy. I get frustrated sometimes and feel as if I just wanna run to Vegas, but I think that’s perfectly normal. I snap out of it when one of them says, “I love you mommy.”

      • That’s a nice way to snap out of it.

  2. melbrammer says:

    I’m in the UK. Here every child from the age of 3 gets 15 hours of free pre-school or nursery provision from the age of 3. My eldest is 3 and I get a lot of “so what pre-school does he go to then?”, “he’ll be at pre-school now then”. Ummmm, no! Compulsory education in this country starts at 5 – not at 3. Just because the place is funded (which is designed to provide the best start for children who might not have a stimulating home environment), it doesn’t mean that I have to use it. I think the years before school should be a time for playing and for being with mum. There’s plenty of time for learning to put your hand up and ask to go to the bathroom later.
    Having said that, because so many children now attend pre-schools and nurseries, the first year of primary school is no longer set up to cater for children who haven’t. Children are expected to be used to being away from mum all day, to know to put their hand up, to sit down for story time etc. In the past, that was all part of the learning that took place in those first weeks at school. So in order not to disadvantage my child, I feel that he does have to go to pre-school before compulsory education starts… but I’m refusing to send him for more than a year!

    • raisinemreal says:

      Ahhhh, so you too feel the pressure. They make it seem as if our children will just wither and die without preschool. I personally don’t think so. Kids are resilient and adjust rather quickly in stressful situations. Where the first two weeks of a structured learning environment might be challenging, most will adapt and overcome. Those who don’t are just like the many children who started preschool and still haven’t adjusted by the time they get to Kindergarten and still require special education services. It’s not because they started school too late, it’s because they had a learning disability to begin with. Then you have that argument of, “Well if they had been in preschool it would have been detected earlier.” Ok, here’s the deal with that. Because cognitive development varies for each child, how can you even began to hold them to a standard of measurement before age 6? I just hate to be made to feel guilty about something that has yet to proven concretely. Right now, all we have are suggestive studies. I’d like a definitive answer please. LOL. Until then, I guess I’ll continue with my own personal mini experiment. And Thanks a ton for the comment. I love to know that I am writing something that people like to read. 🙂

  3. I know you wrote this months ago, but please don’t feel guilty if you don’t do preschool. Preschool is such a new thing, and millions of children thrive without it. I homeschool, and my kids have never set foot in a preschool. (They might wish they had after some days with me.) There ARE definitive studies, and they point to behavior/learning problems from kids pushed into academics before they were ready (especially boys). There’s a book called “The Successful Homeschool Family Handbook” that tells a lot about this. A mother’s love is the best thing. But not everybody does things my way, and that’s ok too. Not meaning to offend. I’m really enjoying your blog and you hit my big soapbox issue, so you got a long reply. Sorry.

    • raisinemreal says:

      I adore the reply, and now that I’m getting my five year old ready for Kindergarten next year I’m on pins and needles to see if I’ve done a decent job of preparation. Even still, the more I evaluate the public school system, the more I want to home school. I’ve just got all these Old School folks in my family that think I’m getting too good for my britches so to speak. I’d love to hear more on what you think. Thanks for the reply.

  4. frizztext says:

    without a doubt necessary – I was a teacher …

Leave a Reply

